Cummings’ Campaign suffers setback as three counties’ chairpersons Resign from Campaign Team

MONROVIA – The Standard Bearer of Opposition Collaborating Political Parties (CPP) Alexander B. Cummings has suffered another major setback in his campaign as Chairpersons from three counties: Grand Kru, Margibi and Sinoe tendered their resignation from his campaign team.

The chairpersons, Auledpadam Daniel Z. Buleepah, Margibi, Fred Tarboe, Grand Kru, and Augustine T. Wiah of Sinoe said the CPP’s have created a parallel campaign team in all of the counties across the country, something which they termed as a conduit for disintegration and disunity.
They attributed this action of Mr. Cummings as the reason for their departure from the party’s county campaign team.
In a letter addressed to CPP’s Secretary General, Martin Kollah, the three counties chairs expressed their disappointment over the party’s failure to live up to its promises that they were going to win these elections and create a political home that would serve the needs of every Liberian, noting that the party has since failed to do so even before the elections.
In the letter, they expressed their disappointment in the party’s failure to cooperate with them.
They noted: “We the below-listed counties’ chairpersons write to tender our resignations from the various Counties’ Campaign Team and suspend our membership with the CPP campaign across the Country.”

According to them, their coming over to the CPP was to envision a country where all citizens are treated equally regardless of which party they belong to within the collaboration.
They, however, expressed their gratitude to Mr. Cummings and the CPP for affording them the opportunity to serve in leadership positions at the level of their respective counties.
“We are grateful for the opportunity afforded us to serve in leadership positions of the collaboration in our respective counties.”

Last week, Meanwhile, Mr. Cummings unveiled his campaign team and named former Liberian Ambassador to the United Nations Lewis G. Brown as its national campaign Chairman.
Other key appointments include Dr. Toga Gayewea McIntosh, former Foreign Minister, as the national advisor; Cllr. Alloysius Toe, Deputy for Legal Affairs; Isaac Vah Tupah, Jr., Deputy for Policy; Cllr. George Gyude Wisner, Deputy for Mobilization and Chairman for Montserrado County; Rev. Josiah Kennedy, Deputy for Logistics; Brisco Toe, Deputy for Auxiliaries; former ANC Chairman Lafayette Gould, Campaign Coordinator, and spokesperson, and former Senator Henry Yallah, Chairman of Bong County, among others.

Addressing his supporters at the CPP headquarters in Monrovia, Cummings said that Liberians face a clear choice between the past, the present, and a promising future. He urged Liberians to opt for a brighter and better future by electing him, alongside his vice standard bearer, Cllr. Charlyne Brumskine. Expressing confidence in the voters’ judgment, he stated that he believes Liberians will make the right decision.
Also speaking following his appointment, Ambassador Brown thanked Cummings for the trust placed in him and vowed to lead the campaign to victory.
Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )