Lonestar Departs for South Africa to Knock Horns with Bafana Bafana in Afcon qualifier -Latest Liberian News

MONROVIA – A 38-man Liberia Football Association (LFA) delegation left Monrovia for Johannesburg, South Africa on 20 March.

It is headed by LFA’s second Vice President Saye-Taayor Adolphus Dolo and includes executive committee member Nyemah Nyanway, Deputy Sports Minister Andy Quamie, and Dixon S. Horace of the Ministry of Youth & Sports.

Others are LFA technical and development committee member and former Liberia international Anthony Laffor and media officer Anthony Kokoi.

The rest include head coach Ansu Keita, deputy coach Cooper Sannah, goalkeeping coach Nathaniel Sherman, trainer George Gebro, doctor Torsou Jallabah, administrative manager Sebastian Collins, masseur Sampson Z. Zoegbeh, kit manager Tommy Johnson and kitman Sonnyboy Mason.  

Seven local-based and four foreign-based players are part of the delegation.

They are Tommy Songo, Emmanuel Denneah, Derrick Julu, Arago Jamal, Prince Balde, Darius Kah, Terrence Tisdell, Joachim Adukor, Morris Konneh, Ketu Jerbo, and Farsedu Logan.

The remaining 12 foreign-based players will travel to Johannesburg from their respective destinations.

Liberia will take on South Africa in Group K of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers at Orlando Stadium at 1600 GMT on 24 March.

The return leg will be played at the Samuel Kanyon Doe sports complex in Paynesville at 1600 GMT on 28 March.

Full squad

Goalkeepers: Tommy Songo (LISCR FC), Emmanuel Denneah (Bea Mountain), and Derrick Julu (Watanga FC)

Defenders: Arago Jamal (Al Ahly Benghazi, Libya), Prince Balde (Al Diwaniyah, Iraq), Darius Kah (LISCR FC), Sampson Dweh (MFK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Mark Pabai (Tabor Sezana, Slovenia), Marcus Macauley (Polis Diraja Malaysia, Malaysia) and Mohammed Sangare (Accrington Stanley, England)

Midfielders: Terrence Tisdell (Sumgayit FK, Azerbaijan), Joachim Adukor (unattached), Morris Konneh (Heaven Eleven), Murphy Oscar Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Nohan Kenneh (Ross County, Scotland), Allen Njie (FC Aarau, Switzerland), Justin Paul Salmon (Degerfors IF, Sweden) and Tonia Tisdell (Egypt Telecom, Egypt)

Forwards: William Jebor (Valletta, Malta), Peter Wilson (FK Jerv, Norway), Mohammed Kamara (Hapoel Haifa, Israel), Ketu Jerbo (FC Bea Mountain), and Farsedu Logan (Watanga FC)

Source: Liberia Football Association

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )