Meet the Premier League’s Relegated, Promoted Teams as 2022/23 Season Climaxes  

After seven years in the Premier League that saw them winning the league in 2016, Leicester FC (left) were relegated while Burnley returned to the Premier League one year after they were relegated.

The 2022/23 Premier League season has entered the history books following the conclusion of eight months of drama.

The relegation battle went down to the final day of the season, with three clubs scrapping it out to extend their stay in the top flight of English football.

On the last day of the campaign, Everton, Leicester and Leeds started the day hoping to play in the same league next season as the three clubs who have been recently promoted to the Premier League from the Championship.

K-news sports Desk take a look at which teams have been relegated from the Premier League and which teams have been promoted this season.

Relegated teams

Leicester City, founded 1884

Leicester have gone from being Premier League champions to the Championship in seven years.

The Foxes kept their side of the bargain by beating West Ham 2-1 at the King Power, and they would have stayed up if Bournemouth had scored an equalizer on Merseyside.

Leicester’s relegation comes just seven years after they won the Premier League title. Their fate was sealed on the final day of the season despite beating West Ham 2-1, finishing two points behind Everton who themselves beat Bournemouth to stay in the division.

Leeds United, October 17, 1919

As for Leeds, they were beaten 4-1 by Tottenham at Elland Road to end their three-year stay in the top flight. Leeds will also be playing Championship football next season after finishing five points behind the Toffees.

Sam Allardyce had been appointed as manager last month but he was unable to save the Yorkshire club in his four matches in charge.

Southampton, November 21, 1885

Southampton finished rock bottom of the Premier League with a paltry 25 points, bringing an end to their 10-year stay in the top flight. Southampton suffered Premier League relegation after Fulham secured a 2-0 win at St Mary’s Stadium.

Southampton finished rock bottom of the Premier League with a paltry 25 points, bringing an end to their 10-year stay in the top flight.

After a sorry season that saw them occupy one of the relegation spots since November 5, their 12th home defeat of the season against Fulham meant they will be playing in the second-tier next season.

They last suffered relegation from the Premier League in 2005 – it took them seven years to win promotion back after a period that also saw them relegated to League One.

Promoted Teams

Burnley, founded May 18, 1882

Burnley secured an immediate return to the Premier League for the 2023/24 season, earning automatic promotion after a one-year absence. The Clarets made sure of a top-two spot in the Championship after they beat Middlesbrough 2-1 back in April, thanks to goals from Ashley Barnes and Connor Roberts.

They dominated the division under manager Vincent Kompany and finished the campaign with 29 wins and 101 points.

Sheffield United, March 22, 1889

Sheffield United have been promoted back to the Premier League after two seasons away. This happened back in April when United beat West Bromwich Albion 2-0 at Bramall Lane in a result that sealed their return to the big time with three games to spare. The Blades, who who relegated two years ago, finished with 91 points under Paul Heckingbottom.

Luton FC, April 11, 1885

Luton FC celebrates playoff victory (Adam Davy/PA/AP)

And Luton clinched the final promotion place with a dramatic penalty shootout victory over Coventry City in the play-off final at Wembley.

The club have never played in the Premier League having been relegated just before the competition was created in 1992.

The below is the full list of clubs confirmed for the Premier League 2023/24 arranged in alphabetical order.

Premier League 2023/24

•            Arsenal

•            Aston Villa

•            Bournemouth

•            Brentford

•            Brighton

•            Burnley

•            Chelsea

•            Crystal Palace

•            Everton

•            Fulham

•            Liverpool

•            Luton Town

•            Manchester City

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )