Paynesville FC wins LFA National 3rd Division Playoff Championship

Montserrado County’s Third Division giant, Paynesville FC are champions of the national Third-Division play-off Grand Bassa 2022.

They defeated Samira FC 4-2 in a post-match penalty shootout after a dramatic 2-2 draw in an entertaining encounter on Sunday evening at the Doris Williams Sports Stadium in Buchanan City.

The newly promoted second division club took the lead in the thirty-six minutes of play when player H. Dan Weah scored a fantastic left-footed strike from inside the eighteen-yard box; giving Paynesville FC a comfortable first-half lead.

After the break, it was player Augustine Sawah who leveled things for Samira FC in the 69th minutes before Dennis Shabba gave Samira FC the lead in the seventy-two minutes but a ninety minutes equalizer from substitute Levi Gardea sent the match to a penalty shootout.

The competition brought together 32 Third-division clubs from across Liberia.

Bellow are the five newly second division teams that have been confirmed following the week-long competition.

Paynesville FC (Montserrado), Samira FC (Montserrado), Angels FC (Bomi), NPA Anchors II (Sinoe), Tewor District (Grand Cape Mount)

Meanwhile, player H. Dan Weah walks away with the highest goals scorer award after netting the back of the night seven times on five different occasions in the tournament.

In another development Sinoe County, for the first time produced a second division club in the history of football in Liberia.

The County will now be represented by NPA Anchors II in the second tier of Liberian football in the 2022/2023 LFA league season.

The club defeated Margibi County’s giant Quincy FC 4-1 in a post-match penalty shootout over the weekend in Buchanan.

By: Edwin Barttafoyen

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )