South Africa Announces Cricket Squad for Australia Tour

Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) National Selection Committee has named its 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match test series against Australia, which gets underway at the Gabba in Brisbane on 17 December.

ITEC Knights pacemen Gerald Coetzee has earned his maiden call-up to the South Africa red-ball setup after impressing for his domestic team.

There is also a recall for Theunis de Bruyn, who last featured for the national side in 2019. The right-hander, who has 12 test caps, has enjoyed success with the Momentum Multiply Titans in the CSA 4-Day Domestic Series with a first-class average of 41.83, including a title-winning 143 in the final round of matches last term.

Another key batter Rassie van der Dussen has recovered from the finger injury that cut short his tour to England earlier in the year and the subsequent ICC Men’s T20 World Cup to take his place in the squad, while Keshav Maharaj is cleared for the tour. The spinner sustained a low-grade groin muscle injury at the T20 World Cup in Australia and is currently undergoing treatment and rehabilitation.

Wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen replaces Ryan Rickelton – the DP World Lions gloveman, who played the last of his three tests against England in September, has an ankle injury that forced him to be overlooked by the national selectors but allows him to still be picked by his domestic team.

Meanwhile, top-order batter Keegan Petersen is also unavailable for selection after sustaining a severe injury to his hamstring playing for the Hollywoodbets Dolphins in the CSA T20 Challenge final in Potchefstroom earlier this month.

The squad will depart for Australia on 01 December and as part of their preparation, Dean Elgar’s side will play an unofficial four-day match against Cricket Australia XI from 09 – 12 December at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )